营养与食品科学杂志

营养与食品科学杂志
开放获取

国际标准期刊号: 2155-9600

抽象的

与杂食男性相比,素食男性的身体成分更健康

胡里奥·塞萨尔·阿科斯塔-纳瓦罗、阿德里安娜·米多里·奥基、路易莎·安东尼亚齐·戈麦斯·德·古韦亚、瓦莱丽娅·洪、玛丽亚·卡洛斯·邦芬、佩德罗·阿科斯塔-卡德纳斯、莱蒂西亚·罗梅拉·皮科洛、朱莉安娜·诺利博斯、加布里埃拉·莫赖斯、埃兰·泽费里尼、埃诺·洛佩斯、马西奥·米纳姆、路易斯·阿帕雷西多·博尔托洛托、威尔逊·萨尔加多·小和劳尔·迪亚斯·桑托斯

背景:之前的研究表明,素食 (VEG) 饮食与健康的生活方式以及通过人体测量参数评估的维持适当的身体成分之间存在关联。

目的:通过各种方法进行评估,分析素食男性是否比杂食男性 (OMN)具有更高的营养状况充足率。

方法:在这项观察性研究中,我们从来自圣保罗的 745 名个体中招募了 44 名 OMN 和 44 名 VEG 明显健康的男性参与者参加 CARVOS 研究,通过两次 24 小时饮食回忆、体重指数 (BMI)、周长测量值、腰围进行评估-臀围比(WHR)、皮褶和BIA。

结果:基于 BMI(70.4%,P=0.001)、腰臀比(15.9%,P=0.026)、腰围(50%,P=0.001)、臂围(20.5%),OMN 男性超重/肥胖比例最高,P=0.001),三头肌皮褶(77.3%,P=0.008),占皮褶总数的体脂百分比(77.3%,P=0.001),以及按 BIA 计算的体脂百分比(47.7%,P=0.001)。多元逻辑回归显示,与 VEG 相比,OMN 显着增加超重/肥胖的风险(OR 12.12,CI 3.7 至 39.4);腰围不足(OR 8.39,CI 2.4 至 28.9);腰臀比不足(OR 9.85,CI 1.1 至 86.7);肥胖(OR 6.2,CI 1.9至20.3),高体脂百分比(OR 8.93,CI 2.5至32.0)和BIA(OR 5.7,IC 1.7-19.0)。

结论:根据 BMI、腹部多余脂肪以及通过周长、皮褶测量和 BIA 估算的多余身体脂肪,素食男性的营养充足率较高,超重发生率较低。

Top

Journal of Nutrition & Food Sciences

Journal of Nutrition & Food Sciences
Open Access

ISSN: 2155-9600

+44 7480022449

Abstract

Healthier Body Composition in Vegetarian Men Compared to Omnivorous Men

Julio Cesar Acosta-Navarro, Adriana Midori Oki, Luiza Antoniazzi Gomes de Gouveia, Valeria Hong, Maria Carlos Bonfim, Pedro Acosta-Cardenas, Letícia Romera Picolo, Juliana Nólibos, Gabriela Moraes, Elane Zeferini, Heno Lopes, Márcio Miname, Luiz Aparecido Bortolotto, Wilson Salgado Filho and Raul Dias Santos

Background: Previous studies have shown associations between vegetarian (VEG) diet and a healthy lifestyle and the maintenance of adequate body composition evaluated by anthropometric parameters.

Objective: To analyze whether vegetarian men have higher rates of adequate nutritional status compared to omnivorous (OMN) men, evaluated by various methods.

Methods: In this observational study, from 745 individuals from São Paulo, we enrolled 44 OMN and 44 VEG apparently healthy men participants in the CARVOS Study were evaluated by two 24-h dietary recalls, body mass index (BMI), circumference measurements, waist-hip ratio (WHR), skinfolds, and by BIA.

Results: OMN men had the highest percentage of overweight/obesity  based on BMI (70.4%, P=0.001), WHR (15.9%, P=0.026), waist circumference (50%, P=0.001), arm circumference (20.5%, P=0.001), tricipital skinfold (77.3%, P=0.008), % body fat by total of skinfolds (77.3%, P=0.001), and % body fat by BIA (47.7%, P=0.001). Multiple logistic regression showed that being OMN compared to being VEG significantly increased the risk of overweight/obesity (OR 12.12, CI 3.7 to 39.4); inadequate waist circumference (OR 8.39, CI 2.4 to 28.9); inadequate WHR (OR 9.85, CI 1.1 to 86.7); obesity by total of skinfolds (OR 6.2, CI 1.9 to 20.3), high % body fat by total of skinfolds (OR 8.93, CI 2.5 to 32.0) and by BIA (OR 5.7, IC 1.7-19.0).

Conclusion: Vegetarian men have higher rates of adequate nutrition and a lower prevalence of overweight according to BMI, excess abdominal fat, and excess body fat estimated by circumferences, skinfold measurement, and by BIA.

Top