健康老龄化研究

健康老龄化研究
开放获取

国际标准期刊号: 2261-7434

抽象的

对长期护理中口服营养补充剂使用情况的回顾性图表审计的见解

Shanthi Johnsona、Roseann Nasser、Cerith L. McGregorb、Krista R. Sawatzkyb、Kimberly T. Thieub、Sharon Walkerb、Jean Colemanb、

背景:随着时间的推移,长期护理 (LTC) 中口服营养补充剂 (ONS) 的比例稳步增加。本研究旨在通过 LTC 的回顾性图表审计深入了解 ONS 的使用和处方实践。

方法:标准工具收集有关背景/人口统计、营养评估、干预和监测信息的数据。对 4 个 LTC 之家的 38 名接受 ONS 治疗的居民进行了图表审计。

结果:在 68% (n =25/38) 的图表中,研究人员能够确定居民是否每天接受 ONS。百分之九十六 (n= 24/25) 每天都会收到 ONS。在 13% (5/38) 的图表中,体重减轻、食欲不佳和/或血糖控制是 ONS 的指征。21% (n= 8/38) 尝试使用食物和/或强化食品来增加热量摄入。在审查的图表中,84% (n= 32/38) 有监测记录(例如体重、饮食摄入量),其中 72% (n= 23/32) 每年都有记录。只有 34% (13/38) 的图表有处方者信息,最常见的 ONS 处方者是医生 (85%, n= 11/13)。

结论:收集到的有关 ONS 使用的信息有限,且处方实践不一致。需要指导方针、政策和教育来支持长期护理之家的 ONS 实践,并且应让营养师参与其中。

Top

GET THE APP

Healthy Aging Research

Healthy Aging Research
Open Access

ISSN: 2261-7434

+44-20-4587-4809

Abstract

Insights from a retrospective chart audit of oral nutrition supplement use in long-term care

Shanthi Johnsona, Roseann Nasser, Cherith L. McGregorb,, Krista R. Sawatzkyb,Kimberly T. Thieub, Sharon Walkerb, Jean Colemanb,

Background: Prescribing oral nutritional supplements (ONS) in long-term care (LTC) has steadily increased over time. This study aimed to develop insight into ONS use and prescription practices from a retrospective chart audit in LTC.

Methods: A standard tool collected data on background/demographics, nutritional assessment, intervention and monitoring information. A chart audit was conducted on 38 residents prescribed with ONS in 4 LTC homes.

Results: In 68% (n =25/38) of the charts, researchers were able to determine whether residents received ONS daily. Ninety-six percent (n= 24/25) received ONS on a daily basis. In 13% (5/38) of the charts, weight loss, poor appetite, and/or blood glucose control were indications for ONS. In 21% (n= 8/38), there were attempts to increase caloric intake using food and/or fortified foods. Of the charts reviewed, 84% (n= 32/38) had documentation of monitoring (eg, weight, dietary intake) and of these, 72% (n= 23/32) had documentation done annually. Only 34% (13/38) of the charts had prescriber information and the most common prescriber of ONS were physicians (85%, n= 11/13).

Conclusions: There is limited information collected regarding ONS use and prescribing practices are inconsistent. Guidelines, policies, and education are required to support ONS practice in LTC homes and should involve dietitians.

Top