健康老龄化研究

健康老龄化研究
开放获取

国际标准期刊号: 2261-7434

抽象的

老年男性运动训练后脂肪代谢增加,但女性则不然

纳丁·M·费舍尔 (Nadine M. Fisher)、Atcharaporn Limprasertkul、大卫·R·彭德加斯特 (David R. Pendergast)

背景:老年人脂肪代谢(FM)减少可能是由于体力活动和峰值耗氧量(VO2peak)减少造成的。本研究旨在评估老年男性和女性的全身 FM,并评估通过锻炼计划扭转不活动状态对改善 FM 的程度。

方法:比较老年受试者在进行为期 8 周的间歇性有氧运动计划之前和之后的 VO2peak 和 FM(从呼吸交换比推断;RER)。所有参与者(42 名年龄为 74 ± 3 岁的老年女性和 41 名年龄为 74 ± 3 岁的男性)在自行车测力计上完成了峰值自愿分级运动测试,并测量了 VO2 和 RER。22 名老年女性和 22 名男性完成了 8 周的运动训练(每周 3 × 1 小时,使用自行车测力计进行训练)。到项目结束时,运动强度从最大预测试工作量的 40% 提高到 100%。其余受试者作为对照。

结果:女性RER(RER=0.49VO2+0.60)显着高于男性(RER=0.27VO2+0.71;P=0.001)。运动训练增加了 VO2peak(女性 20%,男性 30%),并降低了男性次最大摄氧量时的 RER(RER= 0.21 VO2+0.75 vs. RER= 0.27 VO2+0.71),但女性则不然(RER= 0.49 VO2+0.60) )。

结论:虽然文献报道老年男性和女性的 FM 降低,但本研究表明,男性在有氧训练后 FM 增加,但女性则不然,尽管两者的 VO2peak 均有所增加。

Top

Healthy Aging Research

Healthy Aging Research
Open Access

ISSN: 2261-7434

+32-466902141

Abstract

Fat metabolism increases after exercise training in older men, but not women

Nadine M. Fisher, Atcharaporn Limprasertkul, David R. Pendergast

Background: Reduced fat metabolism (FM) in older persons may be caused by reduced physical activity and peak oxygen consumption (VO2peak). This study aimed to estimate total body FM in older men and women, and evaluate the extent to which reversing inactivity with an exercise program would improve FM.

Methods: VO2peak and FM (inferred from respiratory exchange ratio; RER) in older subjects were compared before and after a progressive 8-week intermittent aerobic exercise program. All participants (42 older women aged 74 ± 3 y and 41 men aged 74 ±3 y) completed a peak voluntary graded exercise test on a cycle ergometer, and VO2 and RER were measured. Twenty-two older women and 22 men completed 8 weeks of exercise training (3 × 1 h weekly sessions on a cycle ergometer). Exercise intensity progressed from 40% of the maximal pretest workload to 100% by the end of the program. The remaining subjects served as controls.

Results: RER was significantly higher in women (RER= 0.49 VO2+0.60) than men (RER=0.27 VO2+0.71; P= 0.001). Exercise training increased VO2peak (20% for women, 30% for men) and decreased RER at submaximal VO2 in men (RER= 0.21 VO2+0.75 vs. RER= 0.27 VO2+0.71), but not women (RER= 0.49 VO2+0.60).

Conclusion: Although the literature reports that FM is reduced in older men and women, this study demonstrated that, in men, FM was increased after aerobic training, but not in women, despite an increased VO2peak in both.

Top